Advisory Board Membership

The Schools' Observatory is overseen by an advisory board. We meet at least annually to report on the work of The Schools' Observatory, the progress towards our strategy, and to gather advice and feedback. The membership of our board is below:

Sir Malcolm Thornton - Chair

  • Peter Belford - Teacher
  • Jenni Chambers - Science and Technology Facilities Council
  • Chris Copperwheat - LJMU: Liverpool Telescope
  • Peter Dolan - LJMU: Widening Participation
  • Andrea Fesmer - Teacher
  • Clare Harvey - The Ogden Trust
  • Ron Holt - Teacher
  • Sheila Kanani - Royal Astronomical Society
  • Tom Lyons - European Space Education Resource Office /STEM Learning
  • Lucinda Offer - Royal Astronomical Society
  • Margaret Penston - The Open University
  • Catherine Shillito -  LJMU: Widening Participation